top of page
Open Site Navigation
Website featuring consumer tech products being edited in the Wix Editor.

Deine Website für bessere Leistung optimieren

Die Website-Leistung spielt eine wichtige Rolle für deinen Erfolg online. Auf Leistung optimierte Seiten verbessern die Wahrnehmung deiner Marke, verschaffen dir online einen Wettbewerbsvorteil und sorgen dafür, dass deine Nutzer immer wiederkommen. Schnellere Websites erhöhen die Nutzerbindung, die Verweildauer von Besuchern, den Umsatz und damit letztlich deinen Gewinn.

Damit du Besuchern deiner Website tatsächlich eine erstklassige Erfahrung bieten kannst, musst du die Leistung deiner Seite ständig optimieren. Und mit Googles Core Web Vitals (CWV) als neuen aussagekräftigen Leistungskennzahlen ist jetzt die perfekte Zeit dafür.

Die CWV-Kennzahlen erleichtern das Messen und Überwachen der Website-Leistung durch die Bewertung von drei wesentlichen Faktoren, die die Ladezeit deiner Seite beeinflussen. Warum dich das interessieren sollte? Weil Google diese Core Web Vitals in seinen Suchalgorithmus integriert. Das bedeutet, dass diese Werte mit darüber entscheiden, wie die größte Suchmaschine der Welt deine Website bewertet.

Bei Wix verbessern wir laufend unsere Software und Infrastruktur, damit die Websites unserer Nutzer schnellstmöglich laden und reagieren. Daneben gibt es jedoch noch weitere Faktoren, die die Leistung einer Website mitbestimmen. Dazu gehören Anwendungen, Designelemente und Medieninhalte. Und das sind Punkte, an denen du optimieren kannst.

In diesem Artikel beschreiben wir verschiedene Komponenten, die die Leistung deiner Website beeinflussen, damit du der Konkurrenz einen Schritt voraus sein kannst, da die Core Web Vitals ein neuer Standard zur Messung der Website-Leistung werden.

Einführung

Prioritäten bei der Optimierung

In diesem Abschnitt erläutern wir einige Fragen, die du dir stellen solltest, und geben Tipps, wie du die Leistung deiner Website schnell verbessern kannst.

 

Was soll deine Website erreichen?

Wenn du die Leistung deiner Website optimieren willst, solltest du erst mal wissen, welche Ziele du mit der Seite verfolgst. Das gibt dir ein besseres Verständnis dafür, welches Benutzererlebnis du auf deiner Website vermitteln willst und was deine Nutzer tun sollen, während sie auf deiner Seite sind.


 

Sieh dir die Ladezeit deiner Website an

Bevor du mit der Optimierung beginnst, solltest du dir die aktuelle Ladezeit deiner Website ansehen und herausfinden, was diese verlangsamen könnte. In der neuen Website-Geschwindigkeits-Verwaltung von Wix siehst du jetzt noch einfacher, wie deine Website bei tatsächlichen Besuchen (sogenannten Felddaten) abschneidet. Außerdem siehst du den auf Labordaten basierten PageSpeed-Insight-Wert für Mobilgeräte und Desktop.

 

Die regelmäßige Kontrolle der Leistung liefert dir die nötigen Erkenntnisse, um deine Website in die richtige Richtung zu entwickeln.


 

Was weißt du über die Besucher deiner Website (und ihre Ladezeiten)?

Die Statistiken von Wix verraten dir eine Menge über die Besucher deiner Websites. Kommen sie aus Ländern mit langsamerem Internet? Verwenden sie eher Low-End-Mobilgeräte? Wenn ja, könntest du gewisse Aspekte deiner Website optimieren, um die Ladezeiten unabhängig von der Internetverbindung oder den Geräten deiner Besucher zu verkürzen.

Eine Karte, die die Verfügbarkeit von 4g-Netzen auf der ganzen Welt zeigt

Erste Schritte

Optimiere deine Mediendateien für schnellere Ladezeiten

Fotos, Illustrationen und Videos können deine Website attraktiver machen – aber auch verlangsamen. Damit deine Website schneller geladen werden kann, optimiert Wix automatisch Bilder und Videos für dich. Platzhalter mit geringerer Qualität und verzögertes Laden von Mediendateien außerhalb des zuerst angezeigten Bereichs („Lazy Loading“) sorgen dafür, dass deine Website schnell und flüssig geladen wird. Erst wenn Besucher auf der Seite scrollen, ersetzt Wix die Platzhalter durch höherwertige Mediendateien. Das hält die Ladezeiten so kurz wie möglich. 

 

Hier sind einige Dinge, die du tun kannst, um deine Mediendateien für eine schnelle Website zu optimieren.


 

Verwende wenn möglich JPG statt PNG

JPG-Bilder sind bis zu 10x kleiner als PNGs und können entsprechend schneller geladen werden. Verwende sie also wo immer möglich. PNG-Bilder solltest du nur verwenden, wenn du Transparenz benötigst (das unterstützt JPG nicht) oder Bilder, die höchstmögliche Qualität haben müssen.


 

Verwende SVG für Formen, Symbole und Logos

PNG und JPG sind gute Formate für Fotos, aber für Formen und gezeichnete Elemente wie Logos ist das SVG-Format geeigneter. SVG-Dateien sind in der Regel viel kleiner als PNGs und JPGs und auch schneller geladen, da sie direkt in HTML eingebettet sind. Außerdem sehen SVGs immer scharf aus, egal wie sehr sie vergrößert werden. Verwende sie also wo immer möglich. 

 

Wir empfehlen Bilder/PNGs nur dann, wenn das SVG-Element SEHR komplex ist (z. B. ein Bild der Küste von Norwegen mit annähernd 250 kB) und das Element im Layout nur wenig Raum einnimmt – besonders für Formen, die nicht unmittelbar sichtbar sind.


Vermeide animierte GIFs

Alle lieben schicke Animationen. Aber animierte GIFs sind in der Regel groß und haben entsprechend lange Ladezeiten. Wenn du eine Animation auf deiner Website einbauen willst, verwende stattdessen ein Video, da diese Dateien kleiner sind und die Inhalte bereits angezeigt werden können, bevor die Datei vollständig heruntergeladen wurde. Wir empfehlen GIFs nur für einfache animierte Grafiken oder Logos oder wenn dein animierter Inhalt nur wenige Bilder hat und klein ist (z. B. 100x100 Pixel).

 

Tipp: Bessere Leistung mit der Videobox von Wix

Eine Videobox statt animierter GIFs liefert bessere Leistung als externe Video-Player wie YouTube und Vimeo.

Medienoptimierung

Weitere Tipps für Mediendateien

Hier sind weitere Tipps, wie du Mediendateien für die Leistung deiner Website optimieren kannst.

 

Füge Bilder zusammen

Wenn du Überlagerungen verwendest, fasse sie in einem Bild zusammen, um die Downloadgröße zu reduzieren. Dadurch ist vielleicht auch keine Transparenz mehr nötig, wodurch du ein einzelnes JPG-Bild verwenden und den Download entsprechend beschleunigen kannst.

 

Lehn dich entspannt zurück mit Lazy Loading

Wix nutzt „Lazy Loading“ für das schnellere und reibungslosere Laden von Websites. Dabei werden hochauflösende Bilder durch Platzhalter mit geringerer Qualität ersetzt. Um Lazy Loading zu optimieren, verschiebe Bilder mit geringerer Priorität auf der Seite weiter nach unten, damit sie mehr Zeit haben, um voll geladen zu werden.

Ein Beispiel einer Website, die Lazy Loading nutzt.

Unterteile große Hintergrundbilder in einzelne Abschnitte

Die Länge von Website-Seiten kann sich über mehrere Bildschirmlängen erstrecken und beim Surfen zu Verzögerungen führen, während der Browser wartet, bis große Hintergrundbilder geladen wurden. Um das Laden zu beschleunigen, teile große Hintergrundbilder in jeweils etwa einen Bildschirm lange vertikale Abschnitte auf. Dann kann deine Seite mit Lazy Loading schneller geladen werden und Bilder werden erst heruntergeladen, wenn Nutzer nach unten scrollen.

 

Verbessere die Leistung deiner Website mit dem Video-Player von Wix

Nutze den integrierten Video-Player von Wix statt externer Player wie YouTube und Vimeo, um die Leistung deiner Website zu verbessern.

 

Gleiche Hintergrundfarben und Primärfarben von Bildern an

Du kannst eine Farbe für Hintergrundelemente wie Streifen oder Spalten festlegen. Diese Farbe ist hinter teilweise transparenten Bildern zu sehen und wird auch angezeigt, bevor Bilder geladen wurden. Wenn du eine zur Primärfarbe deines Bildes passende Hintergrundfarbe wählst, kann das die Wahrnehmung deiner Seite durch die Nutzer verbessern.

Eine Website, die Lazy Loading für optimierte Ladezeiten nutzt

Weitere Medienoptimierung

Conclusion

Many agencies aren’t upselling soon enough. And they’re risking premature customer churn because of it.

 

Knowing when to upsell a client can feel more art than science, but a study by Vendasta claims to have found the perfect time to expand your relationship with a client: 3 months.

 

Ninety days may seem like a short timeline to start upselling, but if a client is satisfied with your work in that time period then upselling can bring them more value quicker than they expected. Alternatively, if they’re not satisfied, it gives you a chance to recalibrate so you can keep their business. Both of those scenarios result in additional revenue you would have missed out on had you not initiated the conversation.

 

Upsells are easier to approach and able to start earlier than most agencies realize. Here are four critical steps that will help you upsell sooner successfully.

Optimiere deinen Text

Text wird in der Regel schneller geladen als Bilder, aber dennoch kannst du auch Text und Schriftarten deiner Website noch optimieren.

 

Zeige relevanten Text in der ersten Ansicht

Wenn der Bereich „über der Falz“ deiner Website relevanten Text enthält, wissen deine Besucher bereits mehr über deine Seite, bevor sie nach unten scrollen. Sorge dafür, dass dieser Text ansprechend ist und die Leute dazu anregt, deine Website weiter zu erkunden. Besucher springen ab, wenn der erste Text, den sie sehen, nicht relevant ist (oder schlimmer noch, die Seite so leer ist, dass sie den Eindruck bekommen, sie ist gar nicht vollständig geladen). Nutze also diesen Raum – und deine Worte – sorgfältig, um Besucher bestmöglich anzusprechen und zu binden.

Eine Website, die darauf geachtet hat, ihren Besuchern einen ersten Eindruck zu vermitteln, der sie dazu anregt, sich weiter mit dem Inhalt zu beschäftigen.

Verwende nicht zu viele Schriftarten 

Wir alle wissen, dass es Spaß macht, mit Schriftarten herumzuspielen, aber wenn du zu viele Schriftarten, Schriftbreiten und Schriftgrößen verwendest, kann das chaotisch aussehen, die Lesbarkeit verschlechtern und deine Seite langsamer machen. In vielen Fällen wird Text erst sichtbar, wenn die entsprechende Schriftartdatei heruntergeladen wurde. Dementsprechend laden Seiten unter Umständen langsamer, wenn erst mehrere Schriftarten heruntergeladen werden müssen. Wir empfehlen daher, pro Seite maximal fünf verschiedene Schriftarten zu verwenden.

 

Lade eine eigene Schriftart nur einmal hoch

Wenn du eine benutzerdefinierte Schriftart verwendest, achte darauf, dass du sie nicht mehrmals hochlädst. Das kann nämlich dazu führen, dass eine Schriftart auf einer Seite mehrmals heruntergeladen wird. Das verringert die Leistung deiner Website und macht sie möglicherweise langsamer. Der Wix Editor ist eine gute Möglichkeit hierfür und lädt deine benutzerdefinierten Schriftarten hoch und priorisiert schnellere Ladezeiten.

 

Vermeide Text in Bildern

Die Kombination von Text und Bildern macht auf Besucher deiner Website den meisten Eindruck. Aber Text IN Bildern kann die Leistung deiner Website beeinträchtigen. Suchmaschinen oder Screenreader können in ein Bild eingebetteten Text nicht erkennen. Außerdem sind diese Text in den meisten Fällen verpixelt und schwerer lesbar. Und was die Leistung angeht, so ist der Text nicht sichtbar, bis das Bild voll geladen ist.

Verwende Einblendeanimationen nur sparsam

Einblendeanimationen können wichtige Inhalte hervorheben und die Nutzererfahrung beim Laden bereichern. Aber wenn sie exzessiv eingesetzt werden, kann das störend wirken. Außerdem ist Text erst lesbar, wenn die Animationen beendet sind, was die Ladezeit verlängert. Daher raten wir dir, Einblendeanimationen eher sparsam einzusetzen.

Achte auf starken Kontrast

Wenn du Text über einem Bild darstellst, achte auf einen starken Kontrast zum darunterliegenden Bild und der Hintergrundfarbe. So ist der Text bereits lesbar, bevor das Bild geladen wurde.

Beispiel für den ersten Eindruck einer Website

Textoptimierung

scroll down arrow
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn

Was verlangsamt deine Website sonst noch?

Wenn du immer noch Probleme mit der Leistung deiner Website hast, haben wir hier noch weitere Optimierungstipps für dich.

 

Sieh dir Komplexität und Seitenlänge an

Um die Ladezeit deiner Website zu optimieren, solltest du dir auch die Seitenlänge ansehen. Deine Seiten wachsen mit den Inhalten, die du auf ihnen veröffentlichst, aber je mehr Inhalt eine Seite hat, desto länger wird sie – und desto länger dauert es, sie zu laden. Daher könntest du zu lange Seiten auf mehrere kürzere Seiten mit jeweils speziellen Inhalten aufteilen.

Optimiere deine Website für Mobilgeräte

Mit dem Mobile-Editor von Wix macht deine Website auf allen Geräten gute Figur. Wähle ein Layout, füge unterschiedliche Inhalte für Mobile und Desktop hinzu, blende weniger wichtige Inhalte aus und reduziere die Anzahl der Elemente in Galerien, Feeds und Repeatern.

 

Bedenke die Wirkung von iFrames, Google Ads und Analyse-Werkzeugen auf deine Website

Website-Integrationen wie iFrames (bei denen zusätzlicher HTML-Code und andere Ressourcen heruntergeladen werden) und Google Ads können die Leistung deiner Website beeinträchtigen. Setze daher iFrames nur sparsam ein und achte bei der Verwendung von Google Ads darauf, dass alle Felder sichtbar sind. Nachverfolgungs- und Analysewerkzeuge können deine Website ebenfalls verlangsamen, also verwende nur jene, die du wirklich brauchst, um das Besucherverhalten auf deiner Seite zu analysieren. Du kannst auch die Leistung deiner Seite vorher und nachher (mit und ohne) Zählpixel testen, um besser abzuschätzen, welchen Einfluss sie auf die Ladezeiten deiner Website haben.

Beschränke den Einsatz von Lightboxen

Lightboxen sind Pop-up-Fenster, die über dem Hauptinhalt deiner Seite angezeigt werden. Sie eignen sich bestens für wichtige Nachrichten und Ankündigungen. Aber Lightboxen, die beim Laden einer Seite automatisch eingeblendet werden, führen zu einer Verzögerung, bis diese Inhalte sichtbar sind. Daher empfehlen wir dringend, Lightboxen nur für Zusatzinformationen wie spezielle Sales zu verwenden, nicht aber für grundlegende Inhalte deiner Seite, wie etwa deinen Firmennamen.

 

Zusammenfassung

Nachdem die Core Web Vitals Teil von Googles Suchalgorithmus werden, sollte die Optimierung der Leistung deiner Website für dich stets an erster Stelle stehen. Bei Wix sind wir bezüglich der Website-Leistung immer auf dem neuesten Stand und sorgen so dafür, dass die hunderten Millionen auf unserer Plattform gehosteten Websites optimal performen.

Allgemeine Optimierungstipps

Ready to learn more?

For an overview of website performance and to get your site up to speed, read our Intro to Performance article. Or to get a detailed understanding of Core Web Vitals, read our in-depth guide


 

Author: Dan Shappir

Dan focuses on optimizing all sites hosted on Wix for speed. With over 25 years of software development experience, Dan has worked on systems ranging from multi-user games to missile trajectory simulations. He is a frequent speaker at technical conferences, a panelist on the JavaScript Jabber podcast and a member of the Google Chrome Advisory Board (CAB). Dan holds an M.Sc. in Computer Science.

Willst du noch mehr wissen?

Einen Überblick über die Website-Leistung und wie du deine Seite beschleunigen kannst, findest du in unserer Einführung in Website-Performance. Und in unserem Guide zu den Core Web Vitals erfährst du alles über die neuen Kennzahlen.

Dan spezialisiert sich auf die Optimierung der Geschwindigkeit aller bei Wix gehosteten Websites. Dan hat über 25 Jahre Erfahrung in der Softwareentwicklung und bereits an allen möglichen Systemen gearbeitet, von Multiplayerspielen bis zu Simulationen von Raketenflugbahnen. Er hält regelmäßig Vorträge bei technischen Konferenzen, tritt im JavaScript-Jabber-Podcast auf und ist Mitglied des Beratergremiums für Google Chrome (Chrome Advisory Board, CAB). Dan hat einen M.Sc. in Informatik.
 

Autor: Dan Shappir

Performance Tech Lead bei Wix.com

  • Twitter

Erfahre mehr

bottom of page

Open Site Navigation
Website featuring consumer tech products being edited in the Wix Editor.

How to optimize your website for better performance

Web Performance plays a major role in the online journey. High performing sites increase brand perception—giving you a competitive edge online and a reason for users to keep coming back. Faster sites get higher engagement and retain visitors for longer, increasing sales and your bottom line.

 

In order to ensure an excellent user experience, you need to constantly optimize your site for performance. And with the advent of Google's new performance metrics, Core Web Vitals (CWV), there’s never been a better time to get a handle on site optimization.

 

CWV metrics simplify performance measurement and monitoring by assessing three site factors that impact page speed. But why should this matter to you? Because Google is integrating Core Web Vitals into its search algorithm, which means these metrics can play a role in how the world's largest search engine ranks your site.

 

At Wix, we work to constantly update our software and improve our infrastructure to make our users' sites load and operate as quickly as possible. However, there are a lot of other factors that contribute to a site’s performance like apps, design features and media, which is where you can make an impact.

 

In this article we’ll walk you through various components that impact your site’s performance so you can stay ahead of the curve as Core Web Vitals become a new performance measurement standard.

Introduction

Top-of-mind priorities for optimization

In this section, we’ll walk you through some things to ask yourself and insights you can uncover to improve your site’s performance right off the bat. 

 

What’s your site’s purpose?

When thinking about web optimization, a good rule of thumb is to consider your site’s goals. This will help you understand the kind of site experience you want your visitors to have and give you a better sense of the actions you want them to take while exploring your site.


 

Check your site’s speed status

Before you begin optimizing, you’ll need to check your site’s loading time and find out what might be slowing things down. Wix’s new Site Speed dashboard in the analytics dashboard makes it easier to see how your site performs based on real user measurement (also known as field data.) You can also check your PageSpeed Insight score, based on lab data,  for both mobile and desktop.

 

By checking your performance regularly, you'll gain the insights you need to keep your site moving in the right direction.


 

What do you know about your site visitors (and their loading times)?

Your site analytics will tell you a lot about your site visitors. Are they in countries with slower networks? Are they using lower-end mobile devices? If so, you may consider optimizing some aspects of your site to ensure optimal loading time no matter what network or device a visitor might be using.

A map showing the availability of 4g networks around the world.

Getting started

Optimize your media for faster loading

Photos, illustrations and videos can make your website more engaging—but they can also slow it down. To ensure faster loading for site visitors, Wix automatically optimizes images and videos for you. By using low-quality image placeholders (LQIPs) and delayed loading of media that is outside the initial viewport or (“lazy-loading”) your site will load quickly and smoothly. And as a visitor scrolls down a page, Wix will replace LQIPs with higher-quality media to optimize loading time. 

 

Here’s a few things you could do to optimize your media to improve your site’s performance.


 

Use JPGs instead of PNGs when possible

JPG images can be up to 10x smaller than PNGs, and as a result, they can load much faster, so use them when appropriate. You should use PNGs when you need transparency in your images (which JPGs don’t support), or when images must have the highest possible quality. 


 

Use SVGs for shapes, icons and logos

PNGs and JPGs work well for photos, but SVGs work better for shapes and illustration-style elements like logos. SVGs are usually much smaller than PNGs and JPGs; they also load faster because they’re directly embedded in the HTML. Plus, SVGs keep looking sharp no matter how much someone zooms in, so try to use them when possible.  

 

We recommend using images/PNG only when the SVG is VERY complex (e.g. an SVG depicting the coastline of Norway and close to 250k) and the element’s dimensions in the layout are rather small—especially for shapes that display below the fold.



Avoid animated GIFs

Everyone loves a good animation, but animated GIFs usually have large file sizes and long load times. If you want to display animation on your site, try using a video instead since it uses smaller file sizes and can show content to users before it's fully downloaded. We recommend using GIFs for simple animated graphics or logos, or If your content animation contains a few frames and a small dimension size (e.g 100X100).

 

Tip: Get better performance with the Wix VideoBox

Using VideoBox instead of animated GIFS, provides better performance than external video players such as YouTube and Vimeo.

Media optimization

More media best practices

Here are a few more tips about optimizing media to improve your site performance.

 

Combine images when possible

If you're using image overlays, combining your images into a single image can reduce the total download size. This can also remove the need for transparency, allowing you to use a single JPG and speed up download time.

 

Sit back and enjoy lazy loading

Wix utilizes “lazy loading” to ensure quicker and smoother loading times. This is when a high-resolution image is downloaded and is replaced by an LQIP. To optimize lazy loading, move lower priority images further down the page so they have time to fully load.

An example of a website using "lazy loading".

Break large background images into sections

Web pages can run multiple screens long, and users can experience a delay as the browser waits for large background images to load. To speed things up, split large background images into vertical sections, each about a screen long. That way, lazy loading can help your page load faster, and images will only download when a user starts to scroll down.

 

Improve your site performance with the Wix video player

Use Wix’s built-in Wix video player instead of external video players like YouTube and Vimeo, to ensure better site performance.

 

Align background and primary image colors

You can set a color for background images such as stripes and columns. This color is visible when shown behind a partially transparent image and also appears before any image loads. Selecting a background color that matches your image's primary color can also improve how users perceive your page's experience.

A website that utilizes lazy loading for optimal load times

Further media optimization

Conclusion

Many agencies aren’t upselling soon enough. And they’re risking premature customer churn because of it.

 

Knowing when to upsell a client can feel more art than science, but a study by Vendasta claims to have found the perfect time to expand your relationship with a client: 3 months.

 

Ninety days may seem like a short timeline to start upselling, but if a client is satisfied with your work in that time period then upselling can bring them more value quicker than they expected. Alternatively, if they’re not satisfied, it gives you a chance to recalibrate so you can keep their business. Both of those scenarios result in additional revenue you would have missed out on had you not initiated the conversation.

 

Upsells are easier to approach and able to start earlier than most agencies realize. Here are four critical steps that will help you upsell sooner successfully.

Optimize your text

In general text loads faster than images, but there are still ways to optimize your site’s text and fonts.

 

Include above the fold text

Having meaningful text above the fold helps visitors learn about your site before scrolling. Make it engaging and actionable, so people want to keep exploring your site. Visitors may leave a site when above the fold text is not relevant (or worse, get the impression that the page isn’t fully loaded because it’s so empty), so use that space—and your words—wisely for the greatest impact and engagement.

A website that has taken care to have a first impression for its visitors that is highly engaging, to encourage them to browse more of its content.

Limit your fonts 

We know that fonts can be fun, but using too many fonts, font weights and font sizes can look messy, be hard to read  and affect your page’s performance. In many cases, text only becomes visible when a font file is downloaded, so if multiple font files need to be downloaded by a user, page load times may be slower. We recommend limiting the number of font variations on a page to five or fewer.

 

Only upload a custom font once

If you choose to use a custom font, make sure you don’t upload the same font multiple times. This can cause the same font to be downloaded multiple times for the same page— hurting your site’s performance and potentially slowing it down. The Wix Editor prioritizing faster loading times for uploading the custom fonts you want while prioritizing faster loading times.

 

Avoid text in images

Using text and images together will deliver the greatest impact to site visitors. But having text inside of images can actually harm your site performance. Search engines or screen readers cannot detect embedded text inside an image. Also, in most cases, it's pixelated and harder to read. And, in terms of performance, it's not visible until the image is fully loaded.

Use reveal animations sparingly

Reveal animations can draw attention to important content, and enrich a loading experience. But when used excessively they can be distracting. Moreover, text will be unreadable until animations complete, which will increase loading time. For these reasons, we recommend that you don't overuse reveal animations.

Ensure strong contrast

When using text over an image, make sure there is a strong contrast with the underlying image and the background color. This way, the text will be readable before the image loads.

Example of a website’s above the fold

Text optimization

scroll down arrow
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn

What else is slowing your site down?

If you still see site performance issues, here are a few more things to consider when updating for optimization.

 

Examine your site’s complexity and page length 

One way to think about your page loading experience is to consider its page length. Pages on your site expand to support the amount of content you want to publish, but the more stuff you have on a page, the longer that page will be—and the longer it will take to load. Consider splitting overly long pages, into several shorter ones, that contain specific content.


Optimize your site for mobile 

Use the mobile Editor to make sure your site looks good on every device. Choose a layout, add different content for mobile vs desktop, hide less important content and reduce the number of items in galleries, feeds and repeaters.

 

Know how iFrames, Google Ads and tracking tools impact your site

Site integrations such as iFrames (which download extra HTML and other resources) and Google Ads can negatively affect site performance. Use iFrames sparingly, and if using Google Ads, make sure that all boxes are visible. Tracking and analytics (T&A) tools can also slow things down, so only include those needed to analyze how visitors interact with your site. You can also test your site performance before and after (with and without) the tracking pixels, to better assess the performance impact they have on your site’s loading experience.

Limit your use of lightboxes

A lightbox is a popup window that appears on top of the main page content. Lightboxes are a great way to display important messages and announcements. But using a lightbox that automatically pops-up when a page loads, especially one that displays primary content, creates a delay until that content is visible. It's highly recommended to use lightboxes for extra information, such as special sales, and not for the main content of the page, such as the name of the business.

 

Conclusion

As Google’s Core Web Vitals roll out as part of their search algorithm, performance optimization should always be top of mind. At Wix, we're always working to make the 100s of millions of sites hosted on our platform perform their best by staying ahead of the latest developments in performance.

General optimization tips

Ready to learn more?

For an overview of website performance and to get your site up to speed, read our Intro to Performance article. Or to get a detailed understanding of Core Web Vitals, read our in-depth guide


 

Author: Dan Shappir

Dan focuses on optimizing all sites hosted on Wix for speed. With over 25 years of software development experience, Dan has worked on systems ranging from multi-user games to missile trajectory simulations. He is a frequent speaker at technical conferences, a panelist on the JavaScript Jabber podcast and a member of the Google Chrome Advisory Board (CAB). Dan holds an M.Sc. in Computer Science.

Ready to learn more?

For an overview of website performance and to get your site up to speed, read our Intro to Performance article. Or to get a detailed understanding of Core Web Vitals, read our in-depth guide.

Dan focuses on optimizing all sites hosted on Wix for speed. With over 25 years of software development experience, Dan has worked on systems ranging from multi-user games to missile trajectory simulations. He is a frequent speaker at technical conferences, a panelist on the JavaScript Jabber podcast, and a member of the Google Chrome Advisory Board (CAB). Dan holds an M.Sc. in Computer Science.

Author: Dan Shappir

Performance Tech Lead at Wix.com

  • Twitter

Learn more