top of page
Open Site Navigation
Headphones website homepage shown on desktop and mobile. Also shown are core web vital measurements of the site.

Ein detaillierter Guide zu Core Web Vitals (CWV)

Im Juni wurden die Core Web Vitals (CWV) als neue Bewertungen für die Website-Leistung in Googles Suchalgorithmus eingeführt. Dadurch gibt es vereinheitlichte Leitlinien und Standards, an denen sich Websites orientieren können, um ein besseres Benutzererlebnis (User Experience oder UX) zu liefern. Angesichts dieser Neuerung müssen Vermarkter und ladende Seiten mit besserem Benutzererlebnis lernen, die neuen Kennzahlen richtig zu nutzen, um schneller geladene Seiten mit besserem Nutzererlebnis anzubieten.

Bei Wix arbeiten wir ständig daran, die Leistung der auf unserer Plattform gehosteten Websites zu verbessern und sicherzustellen, dass unsere Seiten alle Branchenstandards erfüllen – einschließlich der neuen CWV.

In diesem Artikel sehen wir uns diese CWV und einige weitere wichtige Leistungskennzahlen näher an, um zu verstehen, was sie für die Performance und das Benutzererlebnis deiner Website bedeuten.

Einführung

Warum ist das Benutzererlebnis so wichtig?

Besucher kommen auf deine Website, um sich dein Angebot und deine Inhalte anzusehen, aber das tun sie nur, wenn die Website, die du gebaut hast, schnell genug lädt. Nutzer springen selbst auf den am besten gestalteten Seiten ab, wenn sie erst warten müssen, bis diese auf ihren Geräten geladen sind.

Das ist ein Grund, warum Google die Website-Leistung (d. h. die Ladegeschwindigkeit) als Faktor für die Platzierung in seinen Suchergebnissen stärker betont. Wenn die wichtigsten Faktoren für das Ranking, wie Inhalte und Autorität, eng beieinander liegen, kann die Ladegeschwindigkeit den entscheidenden Unterschied machen. Eine entsprechende Leistung deiner Website kann sich daher positiv auf die Platzierung in den Suchergebnissen auswirken.

Da Core Web Vitals ein wesentlicher Teil der Suchmaschinenoptimierung (SEO) geworden sind, suchen Website-Besitzer natürlich nach Mitteln und Wegen, um ihre CWV-Werte zu verbessern. Und auch, wenn die CWV andere wichtige Messkriterien nicht ersetzen werden, sind sie dank ihrer relativen Einfachheit, Transparenz und umsetzbaren Elemente eine ausgezeichnete Ressource, um die Leistung deiner Website zu verstehen und zu überwachen.

Core Web Vitals verstehen

Die Core Web Vitals sind eine Reihe neuer Bewertungen basierend auf Felddaten (d. h. anonymisierten Daten, die bei tatsächlichen Besuchen deiner Seite gesammelt werden), die vereinheitlichen und vereinfachen sollen, wie Website-Besitzer drei wesentliche Einflussfaktoren für das Benutzererlebnis kontrollieren, nämlich Ladezeit, Interaktivität und visuelle Stabilität. Und weil diese Kennzahlen auf tatsächlichen Nutzungsdaten basieren, sind die CWV-Ergebnisse dynamisch und verändern sich, wenn Nutzer mit deiner Seite interagieren.

In den Tools von Google werden die CWV sowohl in Zahlen als auch in Worten bewertet. So siehst du auf einen Blick, wie gut deine Website performt.

  • Gute“ CWV-Ergebnisse bedeuten, dass alles schnell und flüssig läuft. Anders gesagt, das Nutzererlebnis auf deiner Website ist gut so, wie es ist. 
     

  • Optimierung erforderlich“ bedeutet, dass es Probleme gibt, die deine Website verlangsamen könnten.
     

  • Langsam“ warnt dich, dass dein Benutzererlebnis nicht den Branchenstandards entspricht.

 

Core Web Vitals bewerten drei wesentliche Aspekte der Nutzererfahrung, die die Geschwindigkeit deiner Website beeinflussen:

 

  • Laden: Largest Contentful Paint (LCP) misst die Zeit von Beginn des Ladevorgangs der Seite bis zum Rendering des größten Bildes oder Textblocks in der ersten Ansicht. Für die Bewertung „gut“ darf der LCP-Wert bei maximal 2,5 Sekunden liegen.

 

  • Interaktivität: First Input Delay (FID) misst die Zeit von der ersten Interaktion eines Nutzers mit einer Seite, z. B. der Klick auf einen Link oder einen Button, bis zur tatsächlichen Verarbeitung dieser Interaktion durch den Browser. Für die Bewertung „gut“ darf der FID-Wert bei maximal 100 Millisekunden liegen.

  • Visuelle Stabilität: Cumulative Layout Shift (CLS) misst die Gesamtzahl aller unerwarteten Layoutverschiebungen während der gesamten Lebensdauer einer Seite. Eine unerwartete Layoutverschiebung tritt jedes Mal auf, wenn ein sichtbares Element der Seite ohne Nutzeraktion seine Position verändert. Für die Bewertung „gut“ darf der CLS-Wert bei maximal 0,1 liegen.

Neben den CWV werden für die Bewertung der Nutzerfreundlichkeit von Seiten noch weitere Aspekte herangezogen, die nichts mit der Leistung zu tun haben. Diese sind:

 

  • Mobilfreundlichkeit: Nutzer sollten die mobile Version deiner Website lesen und nutzen können, ohne dass sie sie vergrößern müssen, um die Inhalte zu erkennen.

  • Sicheres Browsen: Mit „Safe Browsing" will Google sicherstellen, dass Websites keine böswilligen oder irreführenden Inhalte haben. Du kannst deine Website mit dem Bericht „Sicherheitsprobleme testen

  • HTTPS: Die Sicherheit deiner Website – sowohl für dich als auch für deine Besucher – hat oberste Priorität und wird bei Suchmaschinen entsprechend stark gewichtet. HTTPS verwendet ein Verschlüsselungsprotokoll und ist sicherer als die Bereitstellung deiner Website über HTTP. In dieser Hinsicht haben wir gute Neuigkeiten: Alle Seiten von Wix verwenden HTTPS.

  • Störende Interstitials: Das Gesetz schreibt vor, dass Websites die Nutzer mittels Einblendungen über Dinge wie Datensammlung und Datenschutzrichtlinien informieren. Störende Einblendungen (Interstitials) können jedoch die Zugänglichkeit der Inhalte beeinträchtigen.

Erläuterung der 3 wichtigsten Web Vitals: LCP, FID und CLS. Und eine Beschreibung, wie sie gemessen werden.
Faktoren, die sich auf die Nutzererfahrung und das Ranking einer Website auswirken, einschließlich Ladezeit, Interaktivität, visuelle Stabilität und mehr.

Die CWV-Werte, die Google für die Bewertung der Nutzerfreundlichkeit von Seiten verwendet, basieren ausschließlich auf Felddaten und nicht auf Labordaten oder anderen simulierten Tests. Diese Felddaten werden auch als Real User Monitoring (RUM) bezeichnet, da sie in den Sitzungen echter Nutzer gesammelt werden.

Die CWV und weitere Daten werden in allen Chrome-Sitzungen gesammelt, wo Nutzer dem nicht widersprochen haben. Diese Daten werden an die Google-Server gesendet und in einer Datenbank namens „Chrome User Experience“ (CrUX) gesammelt. Die Google-Suchmaschine fragt diese Datenbank ab, um die Bewertung für die Nutzerfreundlichkeit von Seiten zu berechnen. Die CrUX-Daten sind auch mit Tools wie Google PageSpeed Insights (PSI) und der Google Search Console zugänglich und einsehbar.

Neben den Felddaten bietet Google auch Tools zum Test der Leistung bei bestimmten Sitzungen unter Laborbedingungen an. Dazu gehören Google Lighthouse und PageSpeed Insights (die wir uns später näher ansehen). Solche Labortools gibt es auch von anderen Anbietern, etwa WebPageTest und GTmetrix. Sie sind besonders nützlich zur schnellen Einschätzung möglicher Änderungen, die die Leistung beeinflussen können, oder um Websites zu testen, für die es noch nicht genug Felddaten gibt.

Wie sammelt Google Felddaten für die Core Web Vitals (und was ist mit Labordaten?)

Tabelle mit den Stärken und Schwächen von Google Performance Feldtoos und Labtools.

Stärken und Schwächen: Field Tools vs. Lab Tools

Die drei Metriken, die Core Web Vitals messen

Core Web Vitals (CWV) verstehen

Tools zur Messung der Core Web Vitals deiner Website

Google integriert die CWV-Kennzahlen in seine anderen beliebten Messtools, darunter einige, die sich bisher vorwiegend auf Labordaten gestützt haben. So findest du deine CWV-Bewertungen:

 

Field Tools:

  • Core Web Vitals-Bericht in der Google Search Console: Die naheliegende erste Anlaufstelle für die Core Web Vitals ist dein Core Web Vitals-Bericht in der Google Search Console (GSC). Er zeigt dir, wie schnell deine Seiten in einem bestimmten Zeitraum geladen werden. Der Bericht analysiert alle von Google indizierten URLs auf deiner Website, vergleicht ihre Werte mit den Core Web Vitals-Daten und kategorisiert diese mit eigenen Werten für Desktop und Mobile. Wie erwähnt sind die drei wesentlichen Core Web Vitals-Kennzahlen: Largest Contentful Paint (LCP), First Input Delay (FID) und Cumulative Layout Shift (CLS).

*Wenn in der Search Console der Hinweis „Keine Daten verfügbar“ angezeigt wird, ist deine Website entweder zu neu in der Search Console oder es gibt nicht genug Daten im CrUX-Bericht, die die Search Console abrufen kann.

 

  • Chrome User Experience (CrUX): Der Chrome User Experience-Bericht stützt sich auf echte Nutzerdaten. Dabei werden wichtige Kennzahlen der Nutzererfahrung im öffentlichen Internet gemessen. Die Daten werden in aggregierter Form von Nutzern gesammelt, die dem nicht widersprochen haben. In Google Data Studio kannst du das CrUX Dashboard einrichten und so die Trends bei der Nutzererfahrung auf einer Website verfolgen.


 

Labortools:

  • Google Lighthouse: Google Lighthouse prüft Websites auf Leistung, Zugänglichkeit, Progressive Web Apps (PWAs), SEO und mehr. Neben den Core Web Vitals LCP und CLS (sowie Total Blocking Time, TBT) misst Lighthouse auch die folgenden Metriken anhand von Labordaten:

    • First Contentful Paint (FCP): FCP markiert den ersten Punkt während des Ladevorgangs, an dem Nutzer etwas auf ihren Bildschirmen sehen. Ein schneller FCP-Wert stellt sicher, dass auf den Bildschirmen der Nutzer etwas passiert, wenn sie deine Seite öffnen. Ein langsamer FCP-Wert bedeutet, dass die Nutzer nach dem Aufrufen der URL erst mal nichts sehen (und das ist nicht gut).

    • Speed Index: Der Speed Index misst, wie schnell Inhalte während des Ladens grafisch angezeigt werden. Das ist essenziell für eine gute Nutzererfahrung.

    • Time to Interactive (TTI): TTI misst, wie lange es dauert, bis eine Website vollständig interaktiv ist. Der Wert verrät dir beispielsweise, wie lange es nach dem Laden einer Seite dauert, bis ein Nutzer auf eine Schaltfläche klicken kann.

  • Google PageSpeed Insights: PageSpeed Insights (PSI) ist ein Google-Tool, das sowohl Labor- als auch Felddaten zu einer Seite liefert und deren Schnelligkeit bewertet. Es integriert nun auch drei CWV-Kennzahlen. Bei der Analyse einer URL bekommst du zwei Berichte, einen für Desktop und einen für Mobilgeräte. Die beiden Bewertungen werden vermutlich unterschiedlich ausfallen. Dies hat mehrere Gründe:

    • Mobilgeräte haben in der Regel langsamere Prozessoren als Desktops und Notebooks.

    • Mobilgeräte müssen die Größe von Bildern und anderen Elementen anpassen, damit sie auf den Bildschirm passen.

    • PageSpeed Insights zeigt die Ladezeiten mit einer simulierten 3G-Verbindung an.

 

  • GTmetrix: GTmetrix verwendet eine Kombination von Google PageSpeed Insights und YSlow, um Kennzahlen und Empfehlungen zu erstellen. Das Tool generiert Zusammenfassungen, Berichte zu Leistung und Struktur und Wasserfalldiagramme.

 

 

Denk aber daran, dass die Leistung einer Website je nach Gerätespezifikationen, Netzwerk und anderen auf den Geräten der Nutzer ausgeführten Prozessen stark variieren kann. Wie gesagt beruhen die Core Web Vitals-Werte auf Felddaten von tatsächlichen Interaktionen von Nutzern mit deiner Website. Daher können diese Bewertungen stärker fluktuieren als mit Labortools gemessene Labordaten.

Was Google zu CWV und SEO sagt

Bei der letzten Google-I/O-Konferenz im Mai 2021 erklärte Google etwas genauer, wie man CWV für die Suchmaschinenoptimierung einsetzen will.

I. Im ersten Schritt gibt es den Ranking-Bonus für die Leistung nur für Mobilgeräte. Die Unterstützung für Desktop folgt zu einem späteren Zeitpunkt (der noch nicht genannt wurde).

II. CWV bringen nur einen Bonus, keinen Abzug. Allerdings könnte sich das Ranking natürlich verschlechtern, wenn die Konkurrenz den Bonus bekommt, die eigene Seite aber nicht.

III. Content ist und bleibt das Wichtigste. Die Qualität und Autorität der Inhalte einer Website hat viel größeren Einfluss auf das Ranking als die Leistung.

IV. Du brauchst keine guten Ergebnisse für alle drei CWV-Kennzahlen, um den Bonus zu erhalten: Jede Kennzahl bringt für sich einen individuellen Bonus.

V. Du brauchst keine gute (grüne) CWV-Bewertung, um einen Bonus zu bekommen. Für schlechte (rote) Bewertungen gibt es natürlich keinen Bonus. Er beginnt jedoch bereits im gelben Bereich und erreicht sein Maximum bei einem grünen Wert.


Allerdings ist eine gute Leistung immer besser für den Erfolg von Websites und das wird auch in Zukunft so bleiben.


Erfahre mehr in Googles Q&A-Sitzung.

CWV messen

Wie Wix sich auf die Core Web Vitals vorbereitet

Um die Leistung der Millionen auf unserer Plattform erstellten Websites zu verbessern und uns auf die Integration der CWV in Googles Website-Ranking vorzubereiten, haben wir mehrere neue Tools und Strategien eingeführt. Dazu gehören:

  • Unsere neue Website-Geschwindigkeits-Verwaltung, mit der Nutzer die Leistung ihrer Website anhand von Echtzeitmetriken wie der Ladezeit (basierend auf Felddaten) überwachen können und Tipps zur Beschleunigung ihrer Seite bekommen. Außerdem zeigt diese Seite den auf Labordaten basierten PageSpeed-Insight-Wert für Mobilgeräte und Desktop an. 

  • Die Beschleunigung des Website-Renderings sowohl auf Desktop als auch auf Mobilgeräten.

  • Das Zwischenspeichern gerenderter Seiten und statischer Ressourcen in einem globalen Content Delivery Network (CDN) für schnellere Ladezeiten.

  • Das Auslagern von Berechnungen von den Endgeräten zu unserem schnellen Server.

 

Durch diese und andere Maßnahmen konnten wir die Zahl der Websites von Wix mit guten CWV-Ergebnissen um das Achtfache erhöhen.

Wie du die Core Web Vitals-Ergebnisse deiner Website von Wix verbesserst

Wenn deine Core Web Vitals nicht gut genug sind, solltest du deine Seite auf jeden Fall auf Leistung hin optimieren. Hier sind einige Vorschläge, was du tun kannst, um deine CWV-Werte zu verbessern:

 

1. Überlade Seiten nicht mit zu vielen Inhalten.
2. Teile lange Seiten auf mehrere kürzere Seiten auf, die sich jeweils auf bestimmte Inhalte oder Funktionen konzentrieren.
3. Verwende wenn möglich JPGs statt PNGs und Videos statt GIFs.
4. Verwende nicht zu viele unterschiedliche Schriftarten oder Schriftbreiten.
5. Übertreibe es nicht mit Animationen, vor allem nicht mit Einblendungen.
6. Stelle deine wichtigsten Inhalte nicht in Lightboxen.

Mehr über Best Practices zur CWV-Optimierung deiner Website erfährst du in unserem Artikel zur Leistungsoptimierung.

Erkenntnis ist der erste Schritt zum Erfolg. Behalte also deine Core Web Vitals (sowie die anderen oben angesprochenen Elemente) stets im Auge und vermeide potenzielle Probleme bereits im Ansatz, indem du deine Website regelmäßig auf Leistung hin optimierst.

Grafik, die die signifikante Verbesserung der Leistung von Wix-Sites seit Ende 2020 zeigt, gemessen von Core Web Vitals.

Die Optimierung für CWV auf Wix

Conclusion

Many agencies aren’t upselling soon enough. And they’re risking premature customer churn because of it.

 

Knowing when to upsell a client can feel more art than science, but a study by Vendasta claims to have found the perfect time to expand your relationship with a client: 3 months.

 

Ninety days may seem like a short timeline to start upselling, but if a client is satisfied with your work in that time period then upselling can bring them more value quicker than they expected. Alternatively, if they’re not satisfied, it gives you a chance to recalibrate so you can keep their business. Both of those scenarios result in additional revenue you would have missed out on had you not initiated the conversation.

 

Upsells are easier to approach and able to start earlier than most agencies realize. Here are four critical steps that will help you upsell sooner successfully.

Dan spezialisiert sich auf die Optimierung der Geschwindigkeit aller bei Wix gehosteten Websites. Dan hat über 25 Jahre Erfahrung in der Softwareentwicklung und bereits an allen möglichen Systemen gearbeitet, von Multiplayerspielen bis zu Simulationen von Raketenflugbahnen. Er hält regelmäßig Vorträge bei technischen Konferenzen, tritt im JavaScript-Jabber-Podcast auf und ist Mitglied des Beratergremiums für Google Chrome (Chrome Advisory Board, CAB). Dan hat einen M.Sc. in Informatik.
 

Autor: Dan Shappir

Performance Tech Lead bei Wix.com

  • Twitter
scroll down arrow
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn

Author: Dan Shappir

Dan focuses on optimizing all sites hosted on Wix for speed. With over 25 years of software development experience, Dan has worked on systems ranging from multi-user games to missile trajectory simulations. He is a frequent speaker at technical conferences, a panelist on the JavaScript Jabber podcast, and a member of the Google Chrome Advisory Board (CAB). Dan holds an M.Sc. in Computer Science.

bottom of page

top of page
Open Site Navigation
Headphones website homepage shown on desktop and mobile. Also shown are core web vital measurements of the site.

An in-depth guide to Core Web Vitals (CWV)

Beginning in June, Core Web Vitals (CWV), a new set of performance assessments, took its place in Google's search algorithm. This initiative provides a unified guidance and standardization to help sites deliver better user experiences on the web. As this change rolls out, marketers and site owners need to learn how to leverage these new metrics to deliver faster-loading sites with great user experiences.

At Wix, we are continually working to improve the performance of sites hosted on our platform—to ensure that our sites meet industry standards including CWV.

In this article, we’ll take a closer look at CWV, along with a few other key performance measures, to understand what they mean for your site performance and visitor experience.

Introduction

Why is user experience so important?

Your visitors come to your site ready to explore your offering and the content you've created for them—but they'll never enjoy what you've built if it takes too long to load. Users will bounce from even the most captivating experience if they're stuck waiting for your site to load on their devices.

That’s one reason why Google is now emphasizing website performance (e.g. speed) as a ranking factor on its search engine. When the primary ranking factors, such as content and authority, are very close, site speed can act as a tiebreaker. As a result, good performance can impact rankings in search results.

As Core Web Vitals become integral to Search Engine Optimization (SEO), site owners are looking to improve their CWV assessments. Though it won't replace other important measurement factors, its relative simplicity, transparency and actionable insights make CWV an excellent resource for understanding and monitoring your site's performance.

Understanding Core Web Vitals

Core Web Vitals is a new set of assessments based on field data (anonymized data collected from actual visits to your sites) designed to help standardize and simplify how site owners monitor three key factors that impact visitor experience the most: loading time, interactivity and visual stability. And because these metrics are based on actual user data, CWV scores are fluid and change as users interact with your site.

Google's tools present CWV as both numerical scores and simple labels, so you can see at a glance how well your site is performing.

  • “Good” CWV scores mean everything is happening quickly and smoothly. This means your user experience is doing just fine. 
     

  • “Needs improvement” CWV scores alert you to issues that may be slowing down your site.
     

  • “Poor” CWV scores warn when your user experience (UX) isn’t up to par with industry standards.

 

Core Web Vitals assesses three essential UX aspects that affect how fast your site performs:

 

  • Loading: Largest Contentful Paint (LCP) measures the time from when the page started loading, until the render of the largest image or text block visible within the initial viewport. For a good score, LCP must be 2.5 seconds or less.

 

  • Interactivity: First Input Delay (FID) measures the time from when a user first interacts with a page, e.g. by clicking on a link or button, until the browser is actually able to process that interaction. For a good score, FID must be 100 milliseconds or less.
     

  • Visual Stability: Cumulative Layout Shift (CLS) measures the total of all individual, unexpected layout shifts that occur during the entire lifespan of the page.  An unexpected layout shift occurs any time a visible element changes its position without user interaction. For a good score, CLS must be 0.1 or less.

In addition to CWV, Page Experience includes other aspects of user experience that are not about performance. These are:

 

  • Mobile-friendliness: Users should be able to read and use the mobile-friendly version of your site without having to pinch or zoom in to read content.

  • Safe Browsing: Google uses Safe Browsing to ensure that sites don’t contain “malicious” or “deceptive” content. You can test your site with a Security Issues report.

  • HTTPS: Your site’s safety and security—both for you and your visitors—is paramount, and search engines take this into account. HTTPS uses an encryption protocol and is more secure than serving your site over HTTP. Good news: All Wix sites are HTTPS. 

  • Intrusive interstitials: By law, websites must inform users about things like data collection and privacy policies by displaying interstitials, but intrusive interstitials can hinder content accessibility.

Explanation of the 3 core web vitals: LCP, FID and CLS. And a description of how they are measured.
Factors that impact a site's user experience and ranking including loading time, interactivity, visual stability and more.

The CWV metrics that Google uses for the Page Experience ranking is based on field data only, and does not use any lab data or other simulated tests. This field data is also known as Real User Monitoring (RUM) because it’s collected from the sessions of real users.

 

CWV, as well as additional data, is collected from every Chrome session that users haven’t opted out of. This data is sent to Google servers, and stored in a database known as Chrome User Experience (CrUX). The Google search engine will then query this database in order to compute the Page Experience ranking signal. The CrUX data is also accessible and presented by tools such as Google PageSpeed Insights (PSI), and the Google Search Console itself.

 

In addition to the field data, Google also provides tools for testing performance of specific sessions under lab conditions, including Google Lighthouse and PageSpeed Insights (which we will cover later on). There are also lab tools from other sources, such as WebPageTest and GTmetrix. These are especially useful for quickly understanding possible changes that may impact performance, or to test sites that don't yet have sufficient field measurements.

How does Google collect Core Web Vitals field data (and what’s the deal with lab data?)

Chart showing the strengths and limitations of Google performance field tools and lab tools.

Strengths and limitations: Field vs. lab tools

The three metrics that measure Core Web Vitals

Understanding Core Web Vitals (CWV)

Tools for measuring your site’s Core Web Vitals

To better integrate the insights of Core Web Vitals with Google’s suite of measurement tools, Google is now incorporating CWV metrics into its other popular measurement tools, including some that have historically focused on reporting lab data. Here’s how and where to find your CWV assessments:

 

Field Tools:

  • Google Search Console Core Web Vitals report: Naturally, your first stop for Core Web Vitals is your Core Web Vitals report in the Google Search Console (GSC), which estimates how quickly your pages load over any given period. This report analyzes all the URLs on your site that Google has indexed, checks their scores against Core Web Vitals data and puts these into buckets, with separate scores for desktop and mobile. As noted in the earlier section, the three core metrics reported by Core Web Vitals are Largest Contentful Paint (LCP), First Input Delay (FID) and Cumulative Layout Shift (CLS).

    *If Search Console says "No Data Available" then either your property is new to Search Console or there is not enough data in CrUX report that can be pulled into Search Console. 

 

  • Chrome User Experience (CrUX): The Chrome User Experience Report is powered by real user data measurements of key UX metrics across the public web. The data is aggregated from users who haven’t disabled their usage reporting. You can set up the CrUX Dashboard on Google Data Studio to track an origin’s UX trends.


 

Lab Tools:

  • Google Lighthouse: Google Lighthouse audits for performance, accessibility, progressive web apps (PWAs), SEO and more. Along with Core Web Vitals LCP and CLS (as well as Total Blocking Time - TBT), Lighthouse measures the following lab data metrics:

    • First Contentful Paint (FCP): FCP marks the first point during page loading when users see something on their screens. A fast FCP can help reassure users that something is happening when they land on your site. A slow FCP means that your users aren't seeing anything right off the bat (and that's not good).

    • Speed Index: Speed Index measures how quickly content is visually displayed during page load. This is critical for a great user experience.

    • Time to Interactive (TTI): TTI measures how long it takes for a page to become fully interactive. For example, TTI will tell you how much time it takes after the page loads before a user can click a button.

 

  • Google PageSpeed Insights: PageSpeed Insights (PSI) is a Google tool that provides both lab and field data about a page and assesses page speed; it now also incorporates all three CWV metrics. When analyzing a URL, you'll receive two separate reports—one for desktop and one for mobile—and these two scores will likely be different because:

    • Mobile devices generally have slower processors than desktops.

    • Mobile devices need to resize images and site elements to fit the viewport.

    • PageSpeed Insights displays the site loading time on mobile with a simulated 3G connection.

 

  • GTmetrix: GTmetrix uses a combination of Google PageSpeed Insights and YSlow to generate scores and recommendations. The tool generates summary, performance, structure and waterfall reports. 

 

 

Remember that a site's performance can vary dramatically based on a user's device capabilities, network conditions and other processes running on the device. As noted earlier, because Core Web Vitals metrics are field data drawn from actual user interactions with your site, your Core Web Vitals assessments will fluctuate more than the lab data measured by lab tools.

What Google says about CWV and SEO

In the latest Google I/O conference in May 2021, Google provided some clarifications on how they plan on using CWV for SEO. 

 

I. Initially, the performance ranking boost will be only for mobile. Desktop support will be added later on (no timeframe was provided).

II. It's only a boost, not a degrading factor. That said, a site’s page rank could decrease if its competitors get a boost and it doesn't.

III. Content is still king, and will always be. Content quality, and authority, have a much higher ranking impact than performance.

IV. You don't need to get good scores for all three CWV in order to get the performance ranking boost: each metric will contribute a boost independently.

V. You don't need to get a good (green) score for any CWV to get a boost: you get zero boost for a poor (red) metric score. It then starts increasing gradually in the yellow zone, and plateaus when it reaches green.

 

That being said, having good performance has always been beneficial for a page's success, and will continue to be so going forward.


Learn more from Google’s Q&A session.

Measuring CWV

How Wix is getting ready for Core Web Vitals

To improve performance for the millions of sites created on our platform, we've implemented several new tools and strategies in preparation for Google incorporating CWV into its page ranking. These include: 

  • Launching our new Site Speed Dashboard to help users monitor their site performance with real-time metrics like loading time (from field data) and tips for improving page speed. Additionally, the dashboard provides PageSpeed Insight scores, based on lab data, for both mobile and desktop. 

  • Reducing website rendering time both desktop and mobile. 

  • Caching rendered pages and static resources in a global CDN for fast delivery.

  • Offloading computations for the endpoint devices to our fast server.

 

Through these and other efforts, we grew the number of Wix sites with a good score by 8x.

How to improve Core Web Vitals results on your Wix site

If your Core Web Vitals are not up to par, it’s important to troubleshoot your site to improve your performance. Here’s what you can do to improve your CWV scores:

 

1. Avoid overloading pages with excessive content.

2. Break long pages into multiple shorter pages, focused on specific content or functionality.

3. Use JPGs over PNGs and videos instead of GIFS where possible. 

4. Avoid excessive use of different fonts or font-weights.

5. Reduce use of animations—reveal animations in particular.

6. Don't put your primary content inside lightboxes.

To learn more about best practices for improving your site for CWV, check out our article on how to optimize your website for better performance.

 

Awareness is the first step on the path to success, so always monitor your Core Web Vitals (along with the other elements we’ve covered)—and then nip any problems you see in the bud by regularly optimizing your site for better performance.

Graph showing the significant improvement of performance of Wix sites since the end of 2020, as measured by Core Web Vitals.

Optimizing for CWV on Wix

Conclusion

Many agencies aren’t upselling soon enough. And they’re risking premature customer churn because of it.

 

Knowing when to upsell a client can feel more art than science, but a study by Vendasta claims to have found the perfect time to expand your relationship with a client: 3 months.

 

Ninety days may seem like a short timeline to start upselling, but if a client is satisfied with your work in that time period then upselling can bring them more value quicker than they expected. Alternatively, if they’re not satisfied, it gives you a chance to recalibrate so you can keep their business. Both of those scenarios result in additional revenue you would have missed out on had you not initiated the conversation.

 

Upsells are easier to approach and able to start earlier than most agencies realize. Here are four critical steps that will help you upsell sooner successfully.

Dan focuses on optimizing all sites hosted on Wix for speed. With over 25 years of software development experience, Dan has worked on systems ranging from multi-user games to missile trajectory simulations. He is a frequent speaker at technical conferences, a panelist on the JavaScript Jabber podcast, and a member of the Google Chrome Advisory Board (CAB). Dan holds an M.Sc. in Computer Science.

Author: Dan Shappir

Performance Tech Lead at Wix.com

  • Twitter
scroll down arrow
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn

Author: Dan Shappir

Dan focuses on optimizing all sites hosted on Wix for speed. With over 25 years of software development experience, Dan has worked on systems ranging from multi-user games to missile trajectory simulations. He is a frequent speaker at technical conferences, a panelist on the JavaScript Jabber podcast, and a member of the Google Chrome Advisory Board (CAB). Dan holds an M.Sc. in Computer Science.

bottom of page