Wix Help Center

    Managing Your Site History

    Tutorial

    View and restore any saved version of your site at any time and never worry about making new changes to your site again. Site history only includes saved and published versions of your site so be sure to always save any changes you make to your site. 

    Accessing Your Site History

    To access your site history:

    1. From My Sites, next to your site, click Manage Site.
    2. From the right of the Dashboard, under Website Actions, click Site History (you might need to click Show More to see this option).

    3. Your Site History page opens:

    A list of your site versions by date and time appears on the left of your Site History page. The current version of your site appears in the site viewer on the right of the page.

    A P appears next to published versions of your site. All other versions are versions that were saved but not published online.

    You can display only the published or important versions on your history list by clicking the drop-down menu next to Show and selecting Published or Important.

    Viewing a Different Version of Your Site

    To view a different version of your site:

    1. From My Sites, next to your site, click Manage Site.
    2. From the right of the Dashboard, under Website Actions, click Site History (you might need to click Show More to see this option).
    3. From the left of the site history page that opens, roll over a version of your site and click View.


    The selected version appears in the site viewer on the right of the page.

    Marking a Version as Important

    You can flag certain versions to mark them as important so that you can easily recognize them in your site history list.

    To mark a version as important:

    1. From My Sites, next to your site, click Manage Site.
    2. From the right of the Dashboard, under Website Actions, click Site History (you might need to click Show More to see this option).
    3. Under My Site History, next to the relevant version, click the Mark as important flag.

    Renaming a Version in Your Site History List

    You can rename the versions in your site history list to help you recognize them.

    To rename a version:

    1. From My Sites, next to your site, click Manage Site.
    2. From the right of the Dashboard, under Website Actions, click Site History (you might need to click Show More to see this option).
    3. Click a version timestamp to activate the field.
    4. Type a new name in the field.

     
    5. Click Done.

    Restoring a Different Version of Your Site

    To restore a different version of your site:

    1. From My Sites, next to your site, click Manage Site.
    2. From the right of the Dashboard, under Website Actions, click Site History (you might need to click Show More to see this option).
    3. From the left of the site history page that opens, roll over a version of your site and click Restore.

    4. From the confirmation pop-up, click Restore.
    5. Click Go to Editor.

    The version opens in your Editor and becomes the latest saved version of your site. It will not be published until you click Publish.

    From the Editor, click Save to save your changes. Click Publish to publish your site online.

    The following components will not be affected when you restore a previous version of your site: Online Store, Blog, List Builder, and Apps.