Wix Answers

Support for templates in:
Do not post confidential info such as passwords or financial information.
Cancel
  Post Question  
  • 2ShaeFashion

    ? ? ? mailsender@parastorage.com ? ? ?

    By 2ShaeFashion February 6, 2012

    Locked by moderator

    Category: Other

    Subcategory: Other

    Ticket #: 874497829

    Ticket Status: Closed

    Please help me and possibly hundreds of others.


    During the past few days, I have received several emails sent from my "Contact Form" on my Premium Wix Site.
    All of the emails I received were from mailsender@parastorage.com.


    The sender, was asking me for details and pricing of my products etc and wanted to purchase them.
    I was a little sceptical, so did an internet search and came up with this.


    http://sybernetics.net/?p=49 

    The next FIVE lines of text have been "Copy/Pasted" and is only a small part of the information from this "Link" site - Please check it out

    Exploiting Wix for Anonymous Emailing


    Alright so I was messing around on Wix a bit ago and I recorded an interesting request I made.

    POST /wixpress/sendEmail.jspx HTTP/1.1..Host: editor.wix.com..

    After messing around for a bit with it I realized it allows you to send emails via Wix. I thought, what better way to anonymously spam someones inbox. So I rigged up a quick program in AutoIt to test it out.
    _________________________________________________________________________________

    This is now me again - Would you please go to this link and check it out....

    As they, (whoever wishes to use this bit of programming) - are SPAMMING, anonymously, from my site, and heaven only knows how many other Wix sites.

    Could you let me know if these requests I have received are "Legitimate" and just SPAMMING

    OR is it a SCAM - PLEASE get back to me as soon as possible - Thank you

      Reply to this Topic  

Replies (26 replies total)

Show my replies first
  • Nat

    Replied by Nat February 20, 2013

    Thank you for this important information.

     

    Please don't hesitate to contact us again. Nat
  • psmithphotography4u

    Replied by psmithphotography4u February 19, 2013

    This is definitely a scam, I know this from personal experience. Just recently I was asked to work with a potential client's event coordinator and they will ask you to receive the party planners fees through your billing company " as they have no way to process credit cards".... you if you do what they ask will then be instructed to take that money and wire it to the planner who is of course out of state.  Then in a few days you would receive notice by your card processing company (Square, Intuit solutions e.g.) that they cannot collect their funds because the credit card info that the client gave you was from a stolen card. It will happen more than once and I know for a fact because this happened to me 2 months ago and now just today I received this email. Almost identical but different sender name...

    (Message details:
    From: Sean
    Email: seanjessy24@yahoo.com
    Date: 19 February 2013
    Subject: What date is open in march ?

    Message:
    Hello Good afternoon,how are you doing this afternoon ?,i want to have my sons wedding thanksgiving some time in March,2013, i am making preparations ,so i want to know your available dates for photography in March,the ceremony will take place in a event hall not far from you . please let me know your cost too for 3 hours package , also note i will need you to work in hand with my event coordinator for the event . I will like you to get back to me speedy so that i can provide the further details regard the ceremony. Thanks Sean


    Thank you!)

    I hope by sharing this, that at least one person is helped by not falling for this scam.

    P.S.   This is the scammer's  6th attempt just with me at trying the same thing.

    Good Luck, Philippe Smith/ P.Smith Photography

  • Leah

    Replied by Leah February 15, 2013

    Hi dynamicconsultants,

     

    Please contact your email hosting company and ask them if there are MX records or any other records that need to be added in order to get your email up and running. If there are missing records, please add them to the Wix Domain Manager in your Wix account. If you are having trouble with updating your records, please forward us your host’s reply (with the records) and we will make the changes for you.

     

    In the Domain Manager, you can add MX records, A records, CNAME records and TXT records.
    For more info about how to update these records, follow this link.

     

    Sincerely, Leah Wix Team
  • dynamicconsultants

    Replied by dynamicconsultants February 15, 2013

    I have a html5 site and the contact form does not work, I have changed mx records added and deleted contact form. please help.

     

  • Ben

    Replied by Ben January 15, 2013

    @citnpublishing

     

    mailsender@parastorage.com is the default server used to transfer email through our contact form.

     

    When you hit reply via your email platform your sender's email address will appear in the 'To' field.

  • citnpublishing

    Replied by citnpublishing January 14, 2013

    hello wix team, we have just received a message from no-reply@parastorage.com. I assume this is also a legitimate message through our contact form but want to confirm. Thanks for your great website platform!

  • mikewinburn

    Replied by mikewinburn November 25, 2012

    the parastorage email forwarding is working perfectly!  I get emails from clients sent right to my phone (since I set up my phone to receive messages from my IMAP account :)  

    I didn't see my provider in the drop down, but just entering my provider seemed to work and i didnt need to know their MX info... :)

    awesome stuff... can wait to try adding a little more to the website.

  • Rapido

    Replied by Rapido August 8, 2012

    @EmilySkye - when you hit reply the email will be sent to the email address your clients have entered in the contact form.

  • EmilySkye

    Replied by EmilySkye August 8, 2012

    I have an email from a mailsender@parastorage.com from my Wix contact form. When I hit reply it comes up as lienkedb@hotmail.com.

    They are asking for rates for my service too but have left no details except for their name: Lienke

     

  • Itamar

    Replied by Itamar August 1, 2012

    @christophercorbett3

    Please note the parastorage is not the exploit, If you received emails from mailsender@parastorage.com  then that means users used your contact form on your Wix site to contact you.

Add reply

Mark this reply as Best Reply
Close open child tickets
  Post reply